Sunday Post #1

The Sunday Post is a weekly link-up hosted by The Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It is a post to recap the past week, showcase books and things we have received and share news about what is coming up for the week on our blog.

New Arrivals:

The Post Gods were kind to me this week, and I received copies of The Wrath & the Dawn and Girl at War. I’m really excited to read Girl at War because it’s a departure from all the fantasy novels I’ve been reading of late. I’ve also heard some really good things about The Wrath & The Dawn, so hopefully it lives up to the hype.

I was also approved eARCs of Shtum by Jem Lester and I’ll See You in Paris by Michelle Gable. Huge thank you to Net Galley and the publishers for the opportunity to review them!

Reviews:

I actually caught up on all the reviews I let slide (busy, busy). I reviewed the following books this week (click on the title for my review!):

Queen of Shadows – Sarah J. Maas
Career of Evil – Robert Galbraith
The Rest of Us Just Live Here – Patrick Ness
Carry On – Rainbow Rowell
Six of Crows – Leigh Bardugo
Illuminae by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

While writing my reviews this week, I realised just how America-centric my reading choices have been lately (from this list, only two books were written by authors of other nationalities), so I’ve decided to make a conscious effort to read more books by Australian and New Zealander authors. We have so much homegrown talent, it’s a shame they often get passed over in favour of an international name.

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Sunday Post #1

  1. Welcome to the Sunday Post! I liked your review of Illuminae, I just read it last week and agree with your points. It’s nice to see a balanced review.

    Have a great week!

    Like

  2. I know the feeling with American authors centered reading. I had a goal to read more by Dutch authors this year. I failed, but I still read some. I’m curious about The Wrath and the Dawn as well.

    Have a great week!

    Like

  3. How great that you caught up on your reviews – I am so behind. It’s always more appealing to read/listen than to write it up!

    Like

  4. I received I’ll See You in Paris as well; unfortunately I haven’t had time to read as much as I’ve wanted, but I’m looking forward to getting into it more.

    You’ve reviewed some books that are on my TBR list — I’ll definitely have to give them a read! Have a great week.

    Like

Leave a Reply

