Monthly Recap: November

did

November saw me move my blog over from Blogger to WordPress. I blog because I want to connect with other readers, and I think WordPress makes it easier to do so. I’m in the process of moving all my old reviews over to this blog (so if you see a flurry of updates from me, that’s why!).

As I’ve mentioned before, I’m heavily involved in community theatre in my spare time – sometimes as a performer, sometimes as a stage manager, and I’m also on my local theatre company’s committee – which means that I’ve met a lot of my friends through various shows. I do my best to go out and support them when they do shows, and this month I got to see three of my friends perform; two in The Vagina Monologues and one in Over the Moon and Far Away. I also started rehearsals for Sense and Sensibility. I was cast as Lucy Steele at the end of August and have been looking forward to this ever since. It’s been an interesting rehearsal period so far – while I would necessarily say Lucy is the villain of the story, she is the closest I’ve come to playing a villainous character.  acquired

This month I bought The Wrath & The Dawn by Renee Ahdieh, Girl at War by Sara Novic, Chimera by Mira Grant and The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah (although I’m still waiting for the last two to arrive in the post!).

I also received eARCs for: Shtum by Jem Lester (general fiction – adult), I’ll See You in Paris by Michelle Gable (general fiction – adult), and The Remarkable Education of John Quincy Adams (non-fiction).

read

I (re)read a total of six books this month:

Career of Evil – Robert Galbraith
The Rest of Us Just Live Here – Patrick Ness
Carry On – Rainbow Rowell
Six of Crows – Leigh Bardugo
Illuminae by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff
Wuthering Heights by Emily Bron

listened

If you told me two months ago that I would become obsessed with a musical about America’s Founding Fathers that utilises rap, hip-hop and R&B music, I would’ve thought you were insane. Hamilton is a masterpiece. It is such an intelligently constructed show that makes reference to other musicals and rap artists. It features a cast that is almost entirely of colour – as Lin-Manuel Miranda is constantly saying in interviews, this is a story of America then told by America now. It’s smart story-telling, and it shows how important it is for theatre to adapt if it is to survive.

Favourite song(s): Wait For It, Say No To This, Burn

I’ve had Halsey’s debut album Badlands on repeat for awhile now, but I never got around to checking out her debut EP until now. Halsey is such a brilliant artist, and I love how she writes concept records. I really love Room 93 – you can see how she’s grown as an artist, but there are her signature sounds here too.

Favourite song(s): Trouble – Stripped

watched

Screen-Shot-2015-11-10-at-11.27.16-AM-1070x595

I am absolutely, 100% obsessed with Jessica Jones. I was counting down the days until it streamed on Netflix and then binge-watched the series in the space of a weekend. I’m loving the MCU shows so far – Daredevil and Jessica Jones have topped my list of favourite shows of 2015 – and I cannot wait for Netflix’s Luke Cage  and Iron Fist (and the Defenders’ miniseries that’s been promised). I think the shows on Netflix are much more compelling the MCU films – granted, I’ve only seen The Avengers, Defenders of the Galaxy and Age of Ultron – but I suppose it’s an unfair comparison to make because you have much more time to explore with television shows.

 

twupxzs

I’m not all too familiar with DC Comics – I’m a Marvel girl. Still, I really enjoyed Arrow so I thought I’d check out Gotham, which is an origins story for some of the Batman super villains with Jim Gordon as the series’ protagonist. I’m only about five episodes in to the first season, so I’ll reserve judgement til I’m done – but so far, so good.

vlcsnap-2014-11-10-23h51m08s168

Like I said, I’m not overly familiar with DC comics, but Constantine had an interesting premise so I thought I’d check it out. I’m only a couple of episodes into the show, but this was hasn’t pulled me in like Arrow or Gotham did.

bookmarked

 

Leave a Reply

