Their Fractured Light by Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner

25931423
Title:
Their Fractured Light
Author: Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner
Series: The Starbound Trilogy
Publication Date: 1st December 2015
Publisher: Allen & Unwin
Paiges: 400
Format: Paperback | Purchased
ISBN:9781743319710
Add on GoodReads
Rating: ★★★★★
Summary: A year ago, Flynn Cormac and Jubilee Chase made the now infamous Avon Broadcast, calling on the galaxy to witness for their planet, and protect them from destruction. Some say Flynn’s a madman, others whisper about conspiracies. Nobody knows the truth. A year before that, Tarver Merendsen and Lilac LaRoux were rescued from a terrible shipwreck—now, they live a public life in front of the cameras, and a secret life away from the world’s gaze. Now, in the center of the universe on the planet of Corinth, all four are about to collide with two new players, who will bring the fight against LaRoux Industries to a head. Gideon Marchant is an eighteen-year-old computer hacker—a whiz kid and an urban warrior. He’ll climb, abseil and worm his way past the best security measures to pull off onsite hacks that others don’t dare touch.

Sofia Quinn has a killer smile, and by the time you’re done noticing it, she’s got you offering up your wallet, your car, and anything else she desires. She holds LaRoux Industries responsible for the mysterious death of her father and is out for revenge at any cost. When a LaRoux Industries security breach interrupts Gideon and Sofia’s separate attempts to infiltrate their headquarters, they’re forced to work together to escape. Each of them has their own reason for wanting to take down LaRoux Industries, and neither trusts the other. But working together might be the best chance they have to expose the secrets LRI is so desperate to hide.

My thoughts: This series has been the perfect combination of fluffy and science fiction. Although I had my reservations about this series after These Broken Stars, I’m glad that I kept with it – because it has turned into one of my favourite YA series. It’s actually quite epic and intricate, and despite the fact that these books are companion novels and feature different characters, it has been steadily working towards a bigger picture. There has been some Harry Potter-level plot building put into this trilogy, and I was in awe of how much planning went into these books.

The first half of the book was spent with Sofia (whom we had met in This Shattered World) and Gideon, and their interests in LaRoux Industries. The second half saw us reunite with the entire gang, raising the stakes for them and making what I felt to be a much stronger half of the book.

When I say the stakes were raised for everyone, I mean the stakes were raised. I don’t want to spoil it for anyone who hasn’t read it yet, but I feared for Lilac and Tarver, who were struggling with Lilac’s connection to the whispers. I hoped that Jubilee and Flynn could have a better lot in life than what they’d been given. I felt for Sofia and Gideon, who had both reached a point in their lives where they felt they couldn’t trust anyone and that it was easier to live life without any ties to anyone. I was found myself emotionally invested in the characters and was reluctant to put the book down and leave the action.

My only quibble was getting little snippets from the whispers, which I felt was unnecessary (and kind of reminded me of AIDAN in Illuminae). I didn’t think they added that much to the story, and even though they were usually only a paragraph in length I found myself skipping over them to get back to the main action.

Their Fractured Light was a beautiful ending to a wonderful series. Everything that I felt maybe hadn’t been addressed properly in earlier books was wrapped up in this one, and it was the perfect send-off for these characters.

If you haven’t read The Starbound Trilogy, I highly recommend you do! Kaufman and Spooner are in the process of writing another trilogy (with a planned release for 2017), which has already gone on my auto-buy list. While I’m sad that this series has come to an end – and hope we’ll be able to revisit this world sometime in the future – I cannot wait to see what these talented ladies do next!

 

 

One thought on “Their Fractured Light by Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner

Leave a Reply

