Happy New Year!

2015 went by incredibly fast! Unfortunately, it was a hard year for me – I don’t think I’ve ever been slammed so hard by a year before. I set a goal to read 100 books, but I fell short – I only read 86 books.

This year, I’m going back to uni – I was accepted into a Graduate Certificate of Editing & Publishing at UTS, which I am so excited about. I’m also planning on applying for an internship with the Australian Publisher’s Association – if my application is successful, it’ll mean interning two days a week for six months at a publishing house (the dream, guys, the dream!). For these reasons, I’ve set a pretty low goal this year – I’m aiming for 50 books.

First Read of 2016

24332503

The first book I’m reading for 2016 is The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah. I’m trying to branch out and read a bit more adult fiction and genres other than science fiction or fantasy. The Nightingale has been on my TBR list for quite awhile now, and I’m excited that it’s going to be my first read of 2016!

Feature & Follow Friday #1

Feature & Follow Friday is a weekly blog hop feature hosted by Parajunkee and Alison Can Read. If you’d like to join in, head on over to their blogs for terms and conditions!

  1. IĀ adore Jaclyn Moriarty’s The Colours of Madeleine trilogy, and I cannot wait for A Tangle of Gold‘s release. If you haven’t checked out this series yet, you should. It’s absolutely brilliant – a mix of fantasy, political thriller and comedic contemporary, it’ll have you on the edge of your seat.
  2. I care that Richard Gansey III lives and breathes, but apparently when Stiefvater says that that kid’s going down, it means that that kid’s going down. I need to get my hands on The Raven King so I find out how he dies.
  3. This series has made a wreck out of me – there is so much to love about it. I love how Rutkoski keeps raising the stakes for these characters, and I need to get my hands on The Winner’s Kiss
  4. A Court of Thorns and Roses was one of my top reads for 2015, so I cannot wait for A Court of Mist and Fury.
5 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. I am also looking forward to The Raven King, and A Court of Mist and Fury. A Tangle of Gold also looks fun (I just checked it out on GR) but I will need to read the first two books first. Have a great New Year. P.S. I will follow you via email.

    Like

  2. If you are a fantasy fan, then other genres are really hard to get into, at least that is what i find. I am jealous, you are living the dream even in school! Have pity on us indies when you make it into the internship. Slush pile reading can be no fun but you might just find a book or two you would like to agent yourself, if not the “right fit” for where you intern. I’d be keeping a secret book of those, for sure! For me it would be like a sneak peek at the presents before Christmas :0) New follower šŸ™‚ http://wp.me/s5WCdr-2242

    Like

Leave a Reply

