Top Ten Tuesday #6

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. Each week, they post a book-related prompt for book bloggers to answer. This week’s prompt is Top Ten Resolutions We Have For 2016.

Blogging Resolutions

1. Write one discussion post per month

I participate in a lot of weekly memes and reading challenges. Something I’ve been meaning to do for awhile now is to write a discussion post – about book reviewing, about a certain genre of books, anything! – and start producing original content that isn’t just book reviews.

2. Complete at least two reading challenges

I’m participating in three reading challenges this year (excluding my GR challenge). In 2015, I was participating in the Re-Read 2015 Challenge, as well as trying to complete my GR Reading Challenge, and I completely FAILED. This year, I’ve set some lower goals. I’ve also promised myself I’ll make a monthly “challenge progress” post, but we’ll see how that goes.

3. Start an original feature on my blog

While I love participating in features created by other bloggers, I’d really love something of my own – perhaps related to a genre I’m trying to branch out into?

4. Schedule posts two weeks in advance

This is something that I try to do with all my posts (excluding reviews, which I try to get up ASAP), or otherwise they’d never get done, but sometimes I leave it until the last minute and am rushing to put something up. This is something I am absolutely going to fix this year!

5. Comment on at least five other blogs per week

I am 100% terrible at commenting on other blogs and replying to comments on my own blog (sorry to all the lovely people who make an effort to comment!). This year, I am going to challenge myself to talk to others in the book reviewing community and try and build a little network of book reviewing friends.

Reading Resolutions

1. Read at least fifty books this year

While this is a small goal, particularly for a book reviewer, I’m going back to uni this year, and I’m not sure how much time I’ll have on my hands. In 2015, I aimed to read 100 books and fell short of that goal by 13 books. 50 is a small, manageable number that I think I can hit.

2. Read at least six books by Australian authors

Last year, I realised that a lot of my reading was US-centric. American  (closely followed by British) authors dominated my reading choices, and I decided that in 2016, I would actively choose to read books by Australian authors.

3. Re-read twelve books (one per month)

I’m participating in the Re-Read Challenge again this year, and hopefully this year I’ll hit my target! I love re-reading books – I find something new to love about them each time I do.

4. Read at least three debut novels

Specifically 2016 debuts, because I have a tendency to read novels from authors whose work I’m familiar with.

5. Buy no more than two books a month

Because I spend a ridiculous amount of money on books and my bank account is officially protesting.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #6

  1. These are great resolutions, good luck with them all! I’m also hoping to vary my posts with discussions etc, but also have them ready ahead of time which I haven’t done for months ahah XD. Commenting is something I’ve been more active with this last week and it’s been really great so I know you’ll be happy once you do as well
    Enchanted by YA

    Like

Leave a Reply

