Top Ten Tuesday #10

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. Each week, they post a book-related prompt for book bloggers to answer. This week’s prompt is Top Ten Historical Settings You Love

10. The Book Thief | Germany,WWII – my Modern History teacher was obsessed with German history, and so my units of study were based around Germany WWI & II. I was left with a lifelong obsession with German history, and I have no regrets. One of my life goals is to be fluent in German so I can one day sit in a German history lesson and learn how the teach WWII – I find it fascinating.
9. The Romanov Sisters | Russian Revolution, 1900s – another lifelong obsession has been the Romanov family, most likely thanks to my early love for the animated film Anastasia. Russian history fascinates me, mostly because it seems unbelievable and populated with madmen. Whenever I had a PIP for Modern History, I’d end up studying the Romanovs/Russian Revolution.
8. Les Miserables | French Revolution, 1789-1799 – thank you, Marie Antoinette! My endless love for you as a historical figure introduced me to another of my loves: the French revolution. It was such a fascinating time period, coming so soon after the American revolution.
7. Rilla of Ingleside | Canada, WWII – The similarities between Australia and Canada as colonies of Britain fascinate me, and while I was reading Rilla of Ingleside I couldn’t help but note the similarities in attitudes between the Canadian characters in the book, and the homefront attitudes in Australia during wartime.
6. The Killing Moon | Ancient Egypt – this one’s kind of cheating, because the Dreamblood duology is a fantasy series based on (not set in) Ancient Egypt, but I went to a Catholic school that thought it was important to teach us about religions other than Christianity, which has basically left me with an appreciation for religions and the importance they play in people’s lives, and the way in which religion dictated Ancient Egyptian (Greek, Roman etc) society FASCINATES me.
5. Jane Eyre / North and South| Victorian England – specifically the Industrial Revolution. Nobody really seems to take note of it, despite the huge impact it had on cultural norms, lifestyles, values and morality. For authors like Gaskell and Dickens, the effects that it had on the working and middle class were interesting enough that they built stories around it.
4. The Great Gatsby| The Jazz Age/Roaring Twenties – I love the twenties – my 21st birthday party was Roaring 20s themed. It was a time of decadence and celebration, and produced such wild social changes. I also grew up on jazz – my dad loves jazz music, and taught me to appreciate the talent it takes to play it.
3. Mrs Dalloway | Interwar England, 1918-1939 – I would just love to hop in a time machine and see how people and countries dealt with recovering from what was, at the time, the biggest war in history.
2. Little Women | American Civil War, 1861 – 1865 – I don’t know a whole lot about American history. In fact, if it wasn’t for Hamilton, I probably wouldn’t be all that interested in it at all. Much like Russian history, American history seems populated with larger than life figures that a borderline mad.
1. Emma | Regency England, 1811 – 1820 – okay, so, admittedly – in terms of things like hygiene and women’s rights, Regency England probably wouldn’t be the most fun place to be. But in terms of aesthetics, it sounds wonderful. I’m all about the empire waistlines and fancy hairstyles, so Regency England would be right up my alley.

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #10

Leave a Reply

