Monthly Summary: February

did

12662594_10154669100679896_1359887502742244171_n

This month I FINALLY got to see Matilda at the Lyric Theatre – it was amazing. It was everything that I had imagined it to be in my head. I don’t know if I’m the only one who does this, but when I’m listening to cast recordings I’ll map out an idea of it in my head based on production photos. This doesn’t always work out, but this time it definitely did. I also got to see West Side Story at the Riverside Theatre. I’m probably never going to like the story of Romeo and Juliet – the only people who think that it’s the greatest love story ever told are people who’ve never read/seen it – but I can sit through it if it involves dancing gangs and catchy tunes.

read

This month I read a total of two books – Breakfast at Tiffany’s and I’ll See You in Paris.

 acquired

I didn’t buy any books this month! This is quite an achievement for me, because I cannot walk past a bookstore without entering it. I don’t think this was a goal I wrote down on my blog, but I was hoping to buy less books this year, so this is both exciting and a little depressing for me.

I did receive an eARC of Saving London by Taylor Dawn, so expect to see a review for that in the coming weeks!

watched

phpvnjdud

In all honesty, this show was kind of awful. The show really wasn’t the same without Michelle, and it’s kind of hard to believe that characters that are now in their thirties still have the same quirks that they had when they were teenagers. I literally binge-watched this show purely for the nostalgia, and I do not regret it.

listened

bookmarked

The Costume Design of Hamilton – This is an in-depth look behind the process of creating costumes and I really love the process behind creating costumes that reflect a character’s personality; I find it incredibly fascinating.

Artwork from the First-Ever Illustrated Edition of ‘Lolita’ – I initially found the decision to illustrate a book told from the perspective of a pedophile incredibly strange, but I think the Folio Society and Fredrico Infante did a really good job of creating an illustrated edition that highlighted Humbert’s point of view – at no point did the illustrations (at least, the ones that accompany the article) ever create the illusion that the reader should sympathise with Lolita (which is how this book is often read, which puzzles me no end).

Leave a Reply

