Top Ten Tuesday #13

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. Each week, they post a book-related prompt for book bloggers to answer. This week’s prompt is Ten Books I Really Love But Feel Like I Haven’t Talked About Enough/In A While.

It’s been awhile since I’ve written a post for Top Ten Tuesday! Life has been insanely busy lately, and I didn’t set aside time to blog. I wasn’t sure what to blog about this week, because when I love something, I talk about it. Incessantly.Constantly. Non-stop.  I really had to think about this week’s post, but without further ado:

10. Little Women

22443139

Little Women was one of my first (book) loves. When I was younger, I wanted to be as fierce as Jo, and as kind as Beth. I found a kindred spirit in Amy, who I felt understood the trials of being the youngest sibling. Much like Harry Potter, Little Women is less a book I love and more a part of me.

9. Bridget Jones’s Diary

13504164

I like to pretend that Bridget Jones: Mad About the Boy doesn’t exist, and I can take or leave Bridget Jones: The Edge of Reason, but Bridget Jones’s Diary is where it’s at. Bridget is laugh-out-loud funny and witty – in a kind of unintentional way – and she’s such a relatable character.

8. Newsflesh trilogy

I’m not much of a zombie person. I’m not really interested in discussing how I’d survive a zombie apocalypse, or the technicalities of how a zombie is made. I guess this is why Newsflesh was such a perfect trilogy for me – the zombie apocalypse has come and gone, and now the survivors are dealing with living in a zombie-infested world. More to the point, this trilogy is about politics and journalism and ethics – all things that interest me immensely.

7. Chaos Walking trilogy

My shelves are populated with books by and about women. The Chaos Walking trilogy is one of the few I’ve read that a) features a male protagonist and b) is written by a male author. This trilogy is so unique and captivating, it left me thinking about it long after I’d finished it.

6. The Hunger Games trilogy

I don’t think I’ve ever spoken about The Hunger Games in all the time I’ve been book blogging. Perhaps it has something to do with Jennifer Lawrence turning me off the films (she’s a great actress, but the more I see of her in interviews, the less I care for her); perhaps it’s just because you have to have been living under a rock to have not heard of the books. Either way,

5. Dreamblood duology

If you are sick of Eurocentric fantasy novels, then I highly recommend picking up the Dreamblood duology. Jemisin has created a world that is based on Ancient Egyptian mythology and populated by people of colour. She has completely turned the caste system on its head – in this world, the darker your skin is, the higher up you are. There are strong female protagonists – and not just in the “can beat you up” kind of way – and all of the characters are compelling and three-dimensional. Also, the ninja priests are pretty cool.

4. The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender

18166936

This book is, as the title suggests, strange and beautiful. I didn’t really have a whole lot of experience with magical realism before picking up this book, and I spent the entire time reading it in a state of wonder. Very few books have the ability to make me cry, but this one did.

3. The Golem and the Djinni

17624060

I love this book – I think it’s brilliant. It so wonderfully describes the migrant experience while telling the story of two mythological creatures. It masterfully weaves together two mythologies, two cultures, and creates something entirely unique and completely different to anything else I’ve ever read. If you pick up one book this year, let it be this book.

2. Starbound trilogy

This trilogy started out as a guilty pleasure, but blossomed into full-on fangirling. I initially picked up These Broken Stars because I was looking for a light read, and the cover led me to believe that this would be just that: a book that would provide a fun escape for a couple of hours. However, this trilogy has some of the best world building I have ever seen in a YA series; Kaufman and Spooner are experts at dropping hints that don’t flesh out until a book or two later. My jaw was constantly dropping in Their Fractured Light because tiny plot lines from the first two books turned into huge plot twists in the final one. Amazing!

1. Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy

I don’t think I’ve ever really talked about my love of Laini Taylor. I think this mostly stems from the knowledge that the Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy is quite popular with book bloggers (as is Taylor herself), so talking about how brilliant this trilogy is would be kind of redundant. I love how finely drawn the characters are, the prose, and how Taylor has managed to put her own spin on an old and deep-rooted mythology. I love how Taylor has taken a tired YA formula and breathed some life into it. I have nothing but praise for this series, and love it immensely.

 

What are some of the books that you love but don’t talk about? Don’t forget to comment below with a link to your Top Ten Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

