Top Ten Tuesday #14

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. Each week, they post a book-related prompt for book bloggers to answer. This week’s prompt is Top Ten Books That Will Make You Laugh

Long time, no write! Between my uni classes and my theatre commitments, I’ve had no time to sit down and write (not to mention, the class I’m taking this semester is Freelance Writing, which means that when I do have time to sit down and write, I have zero inclination to because I’m doing it virtually all the time). But I am back, and reading to crank out a few posts!

This week’s topic is a little hard because I don’t read books that are strictly considered ‘comedic’ books. Some people might look at this list and think that I have an incredibly weird sense of humour – but that’s okay, because I do.

 

Looking for Alibrandi – This book has one of my favourite opening scenes, ever.  For those uninitiated into Marchetta appreciation (for shame!) – “Panic was my first reaction to the multiple choices options in front of me. I glanced at the students around me before turning back to question three. I hated multiple choice. Yet I didn’t want to get question three wrong. I didn’t want to get any of them wrong. The outcome would be too devastating for my sense of being.” What exactly is our esteemed heroine doing, you ask? Why, she’s taking a ‘What Kind of Friend are You?’ quiz in Hot Pants magazine. It’s brilliant, I know.
The King of Whatever – This one is possibly the only book on the list that falls in the ‘strictly comedy’ category. It’s very Australian in its humour, and a sweet YA book that’s a quick, easy read.
Northanger Abbey – How do I begin to explain Northanger Abbey? The reason I love this book so is because of the ever-sassy Henry Tilney, who gets the best one-liners.
Emma – Jane Austen is the Queen of Social Observance, and this is most apparent in Emma. Emma Woodhouse is delightfully clueless, and an unreliable narrator (which means that you will wind up every bit as clueless as she is). This book is so much fun to read – no matter how many times I read it, I still end up chuckling.
Three Wishes -Oh my God, this book. It is so off-beat and quirkly that it’ll have you laughing from beginning to end.
The Nanny Diaries – Regardless of what industry you work in, you will have some horror stories. Sometimes people will get them, sometimes people won’t. When you read The Nanny Diaries, you get the feeling that these authors have had their fair share of nightmare experiences as nannies. There are moments with awful parents that’ll make you giggle, and moments with tiny tots that’ll warm your heart and make you smile.
Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda – I’m pretty sure everyone has read this book by now, but I can’t help but include it on my list. It’s fluffy in the best way imaginable, and there are moments that are laugh-out-loud funny.
Feeling Sorry for Celia – Anyone who has ever been a teenager will be able to pick up this book and have a good little giggle. You can’t help but find this relatable – feeling like you don’t fit in as a teenager is a universal experience.
Bridget Jones’s Diary – Bridget Jones’s Diary is one of the funniest books I have ever read. There is something so relatable about Bridget, so even when she’s in an outlandish predicament, you can’t help but sympathise with her.
Hating Alison Ashley – This is a childhood favourite. Although I find it less funny now, there is something about this book that just makes me smile.

 

 

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday #14

Leave a Reply

