Top Ten Tuesday #15

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. Each week, they post a book-related prompt for book bloggers to answer. This week’s prompt is Top Ten Bookworm Delights.

My first thought for this week’s topic was, “only ten?” I love books, and I love being a bookworm. I could probably go on for days about why it’s so wonderful living the bookish life, but here are ten reasons why it’s so delightful:

  1. Lying in bed on a rainy day with a cup of tea and a book: There are few things I love more than curling up in bed with a good book. I know it sounds odd, but there’s something lovely about having the sound of rain hitting the roof as you read, perhaps the thunder rolling. You fall into your own little world when reading while its raining. Besides that, I love being in comfy clothes under a cocoon of blankets and knowing that I have zero obligations. It makes the reading experience all the more enjoyable.
  2. Someone loving a book rec you gave: there is no better feeling when you tell someone: “Oh, you should read this!” and they do, and they love it. Alternatively, I love it when a librarian, a bookseller, a friend – anyone, really – will just be like, “here, this is a you book!” and then I find out that yes, it is a me book. I have a few friends who love YA, and we all give each other recs and swap books, it’s great.
  3. Book sales: Nothing warms my heart more than realising that Dymocks or QBD are having a book sale. I will literally go out of my way to stop off at a bookstore if they have a sale on (bad for my bank account, good for my soul).
  4. Hardcover books: I don’t often buy hardcover books (because they’re crazy expensive), but all bets are off if they have gorgeous cover design. I seem to have this problem a lot with the Penguin Classics (case in point: Penguin’s Fitzgerald Classics, Woolf Classics , Mr Boddington’s Penguin Classics) but I will honestly spend good money getting a good story and a gorgeous cover.
  5. Good cover design, in general: there is nothing worse than a book with a generic cover or a cover that doesn’t give a feel for the story. I hate lazy cover design, more than I hate awful typesetting or basic (and I mean baaasic) spelling/grammatical errors (looking at you, Collins Classics). This is probably a trend more noticeable with classic literature (because anyone and everyone can – and do – publish them once they’re in the public domain), but I love it when a publisher will go above and beyond to make their books stand out from the crowd. And on a slightly related note…
  6. Deckled edges: is this a weird one to list? I feel like this is a weird bookish love to list, but I LOVE  deckled edges! For those of you who don’t know, deckled edges are the rough cut edged pages. The first time I bought a deckled edged book, I just sat staring at it, I thought it was so cool (in my defence, I was about twelve). I still think it’s cool. I’ll still run my hand across the edges to feel the rough cut, the unevenness of the pages. I love it. So cool.
  7. That book smell: whether it’s that musty, pre-loved book smell or that new, fresh-off-the-shelves book smell, I love being able to smell that book smell. Whenever I read a book on my iPad, it’s the smell that I miss the most – because the smell tells the book’s history.
  8. Book hunting: my normal book reading process goes like this: I see a book on GR/someone’s recommended a book to me, I check out the reviews, weigh the pros and cons of reading said book, decide whether or not I think it is a book I’d like or if I should pass. There is nothing better than browsing in a book store, finding a book that sounds interesting, and just throwing caution to the wind and buying it.
  9. Finding an underrated novel: Since I joined GR, I read a lot of the well-known books, or the books that are trending right now. It’s nice to find a book that you haven’t heard a lot about and reading for yourself. Reading for myself isn’t something I do a lot nowadays, so it’s nice to go back and remember why I fell in love with reading in the first place.
  10. Connecting with someone over a book: Last, but probably the most important on the list: being able to connect with people over a book. I’ve made so many friends this way, it’s why I got into book blogging – I love being able to talk about books, and tell people why you loved a book (or why you didn’t). There’s nothing lovelier than bonding over books.
5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #15

  1. Beautiful hardcovers are the best! I don’t buy hardcover books often either, because they’re definitely not cost effective. But I still love looking at them– and when someone buys me or sends me a hardcover, I know they really love me. I doubly love books that are beautiful even without the dust cover.

    Like

Leave a Reply

