Top Ten Tuesday #18

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. Each week, they post a book-related prompt for book bloggers to answer. This week is a freebie week, and I have chosen the prompt is Top Ten Fictional Crushes.

Things I have learnt from writing this list:

  • I get literary crushes on male characters from the time period of c. 1800 – 1920
  • I will get attached to characters who exhibit the follow traits: kindness, loyalty, wit, intelligence, and/or compassion
  • But never underestimate the attractiveness of a so-called ‘bad boy’
  • Jane Austen wrote the best romantic interests (almost all of them are listed on this list – with the exception of Edmund Bertram from Mansfield Park because blegh, Edward Ferrars from Sense and Sensibility because he has no personality, and Colonel Brandon from Sense and Sensibility because while I love him and find him v. gallant, there are other fictional characters I love more).
  1. Gilbert Blythe from Anne of Green Gables: Gil was my very first fictional crush, only to be usurped by Laurie Laurence a few days later (I was a very fickle seven year old). Gil is kind, loyal, intelligent and witty – and his love for that Anne girl is #relationship goals.
  2. Laurie Laurence from Little Women: Laurie is the original broody musician. He’s charming and fun, although he does run off to Europe to deal with all his angst after Jo refuses to marry him (nobody needs that kind of diva behaviour in their life).
  3. George Knightley from Emma: Everybody knows and loves Mr. Darcy (see below), but let’s be honest: Knightley is the greatest of Austen’s leading men. He’s gallant; moving into Hartfield – the Woodhouse family estate – after he and Emma marry, because he knows that Mr Woodhouse wouldn’t be able to cope without Emma. He’s kind, principled and compassionate. Also, I am obsessed with the film Clueless (which is a loose adaptation of Emma), and honestly – Paul Rudd? Swoon.
  4. Frederick Wentworth from Persuasion: Daaaaaamn, the man can write a love letter:

    “I can listen no longer in silence. I must speak to you by such means as are within my reach. You pierce my soul. I am half agony, half hope. Tell me not that I am too late, that such precious feelings are gone for ever. I offer myself to you again with a heart even more your own than when you almost broke it, eight years and a half ago. Dare not say that man forgets sooner than woman, that his love has an earlier death. I have loved none but you. Unjust I may have been, weak and resentful I have been, but never inconstant. You alone have brought me to Bath. For you alone, I think and plan. Have you not seen this? Can you fail to have understood my wishes? I had not waited even these ten days, could I have read your feelings, as I think you must have penetrated mine. I can hardly write. I am every instant hearing something which overpowers me. You sink your voice, but I can distinguish the tones of that voice when they would be lost on others. Too good, too excellent creature! You do us justice, indeed. You do believe that there is true attachment and constancy among men. Believe it to be most fervent, most undeviating, in F. W.

    Sa-woon!

  5. Henry Tilney from Northanger Abbey: I love Mr. Tilney for his wit and sass – it redeems his less admirable qualities (like the fact he basically proposes to Catherine because he’s flattered she’s got a crush on him).
  6. Fitzwilliam Darcy from Pride and Prejudice: Lizzie and Darcy’s relationship is a fairytale. He’s family-oriented and loyal, and once he realises how his behaviour is interpreted by others, he sets out to change his ways. He also saves the Bennets from social disgrace, which is a big tick in the swoony department (even if I get my feminist card revoked for saying it).
  7. Edward Rochester from Jane Eyre: Okay, so I’m kind of questioning my judgement by including Rochester on this list – he’s emotionally manipulative and tries to get Jane to compromise her morals to be with him and he plays mind games with just about everyone he comes into contact with,  but there’s also something very attractive about a bad boy, particularly one played by Toby Stephens.
  8. Charlie Taylor from Finding Cassie Crazy: I had the biggest literary crush on Charlie as a teen – he stole teachers’ cars, drove them out to Richmond and gave them a tune-up. He struggled his way through school (he once got 27% on an assignment and his teacher wrote ‘Great work, Charlie!’). He was a teenage delinquent, and I loved him for it. He was also kind, loyal, and sweet. He always went above and beyond for his friends, and I liked that.
  9. Neville Longbottom from Harry Potter: Everyone’s always swooning over Malfoy, Harry, and Ron – but WHAT ABOUT NEVILLE? Yes, he’s awkward and bumbling, but he’s also kind and sweet. He never makes excuses for himself, and soldiers on through life despite the fact he drew the short straw. He’s lovely, and the world should show Neville some more love.
  10. Adam Parrish from The Raven Cycle: Much like Ronan Lynch, I just want to protect Adam Parrish from the world.

Who are your favourite fictional crushes – do we have any in common? Comment below with your literary loves, and don’t forget to post a link to your #TTT!

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #18

  1. I get your feelings about Rochester (particularly those involving Toby Stephens). I’m a huge fan of John Thornton from Elizabeth Gaskell’s ‘North and South’. He’s super grouchy but super swoony. And he’s played by Richard Armitage in the BBC adaptation, which just makes me love him even more.

    Like

      1. Oh yes! I just watched the clip on YouTube and gosh it’s heartbreaking. I think I might give the whole thing a rewatch on the weekend, it’s been ages since I’ve watched it.

        Like

Leave a Reply

