Top Ten Tuesday #20

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. Each week, they post a book-related prompt for book bloggers to answer. This week’s prompt is Ten Facts About Me.

1. I love Austen novels dearly, and have been in two stage adaptations of her works.

This won’t surprise anyone who has been reading my blog on the regular, but I love Jane Austen, and have had an obsession with her novels since I was about ten. I was cast as Mary Bennet in Pride and Prejudice two years ago, and it was the most fun I’ve ever had. I finished up a production of Sense and Sensibility in February; I played Lucy Steele.

2. I am yet to fully jump aboard the ebook train

I mean, I can see the appeal of ebooks, and I do own some – it saves on shelf space, which is a bonus because I have limited space for bookshelves and am severely lacking in bookshelf space. I just prefer physical books, because reading is a sensory experience for me. I love the feeling of the pages between my fingers, I love the smell, I love the pretty cover art and deckle edges and decorative end papers.

3. I don’t organise my books in any particular order

I feel terrible about not really having a system – I know some people who order by genre, some who order by colour, but the limited space I previously mentioned means that it all gets shelved in one huge mess. The most organised my shelves get is having all the books in a series lined up next to one another (which is admittedly one step better than my sister).

4. Aside from J.K. Rowling, Melina Marchetta and Jaclyn Moriarty are the authors I’ve been following the longest.

I feel like they’re just taking off in the book blogger community – Marchetta because of the Lumatere Chronicles, Moriarty because of the Colours of Madeleine trilogy – but these two wrote the stories of my childhood. Looking for Alibrandi and Feeling Sorry for Celia are very much loved, well-read stories that have gotten through the harder times of my teenage years.

5. Books are my security blanket

Much like Rory Gilmore, I carry a book (or two) around with me wherever I go. Sometimes more, because what I read really depends on my mood.

6. I will often stay up late to read

I probably shouldn’t, because I have to get up so early for work (4.30am), but I will often stay up reading past midnight.

7. My favourite film adaptation of a book is To Kill a Mockingbird

Has there ever been a more perfect adaptation of a book than To Kill a Mockingbird? It hit all the important points of the story, was well-cast, well-acted, and well-written. I love it and whenever I have a bad day, it’s my go-to film.

8. I got my first library card when I was three

My parents taught me to read at a young age, and I was always desperate for books so… they did the only reasonable thing, and got a three year old a library card.

9. The book that really made me love reading was Harry Potter

I mean, I always liked reading. As a kid, I liked to read and read Beatrix Potter, Enid Blyton,  Little Women, Anne of Green Gables – all the good stuff. I discovered Harry Potter when I was nine, and like an entire generation of children, was inspired to really love reading.

10. I love stationary.

Like, the only reason to look forward to going back to school was the requisite stationary shopping.

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #20

  1. Jump aboard the ebook train! I’m actually a HUGE ebook reader exactly because of shelf-space (and cheap, and accessible, and I like getting sequels right when I finish a book) but I do think I miss out sometimes on the decorative end papers as well as embossed covers.

    Also I stay up way too late to read. It’s SO BAD because in the morning I struggle really hard to be awake, but I can’t seem to stop myself at night.

    Like

  2. Somehow I’ve only read 2 Austen novels – Pride and Prejudice (of course) and Northanger Abbey. I have Sense and Sensibility of my list and will hopefully get to it soon. I don’t think I was that young when I got my first library but I spent a lot of time in libraries from the time I can remember. The family budget would not have supported my reading habit! I’m not much of a book organizer either. Right now the main focus is just get them out of the floor. I have dreams of someday having more shelf space and a beautifully organized library but we’ll see.

    Like

Leave a Reply

