Something to Say

IMG_3112

Title: Something to Say
Author: Various
Publication Date: 7th November 2016
Publisher: Morrison Media/Frankie Magazine
Pages: 240
Format: Paperback | Purchased
Add on GoodReads
Rating: ★★★★☆
Summary (from publisher):
A collection of funny, rude, clever, cute (and sometimes sad and sweary) stories from the first 12 years of frankie magazines. With witty words from some of our favourite frankie writers, including Benjamin Law, Helen Razer, Marieke Hardy, Eleanor Robertson, Rowena Grant-Frost and Mia Timpano.

My thoughts: Either I’m very bad with money, or frankie is very good at marketing. Regardless of which way you look at it, I spent $25 on an anthology of pieces previously published in a magazine I’ve been reading for the last eight years. This didn’t stop me from enjoying this book very much – I read frankie because the writing is razor-sharp and bitingly funny, and this book is pretty much a ‘greatest hits’ collection.

Anyone who has read this blog before knows that I’m a sucker for good book design, and this case is no different. The book features gorgeous illustrations by Ashley Ronning (whose work I had been following previously, and I was BLOWN AWAY to realise that she had contributed to this book), and is beautifully presented.

The pieces are clever, well-written, and quintessentially Australian. They vary in length, covering a variety of topics including (but not limited to) cats, depression, periods, and even the school principal who objected to the lyrics ‘kookaburra, gay your life must be.’ I frequently found myself laughing out loud (awkwardly, and in public, as promised on the cover) and tearing up (also awkwardly, and in public, and that was not promised on the cover). My personal favourites were Sam Prendergast’s ‘A Sorry Tale,’ and ‘Say Hello to my Little Friend’ by Jo Walker, although it should also be noted that my suspicions that Rowena Grant-Frost is a kindred spirit have grown since reading this collection. Despite having 20+ authors contributing to this anthology, there is a uniform feel to the pieces – something that I can only describe as ‘frankie’ (I’m sure fellow long-time readers of the magazine will agree). It’s quirky, kind of daggy, and a little bit sassy. Simultaneously, each contributor seems to have an original voice, talking about whatever happens to take their fancy. It’s a fine line to walk, and frankie does it so well.

I would recommend this to a frankie super-fan, or someone looking for a light read. Should you wish to own your very own copy of Something to Say, you can purchase it via the frankie shop or Readings.

Leave a Reply

